On May 1, 2012, the direct shipping bill, S 3172, took effect in the state of New Jersey.
The new law allows wineries producing less than 250,000 gallons per year to apply for an Out-of-State Winery License. Fees for this license vary from $63 to $938, depending on annual production. New regulations also require applicants to obtain a bond, register all brand/labels, and limit sales to wines produced by the Out-of-State Winery.
Licensees may ship up to 12 cases per year, combined onsite and offsite sales, to a New Jersey resident. Sales and liquor taxes apply. Records should be kept on file for a minimum of 3 years. Corporations and partnerships are subject to additional taxes, filing requirements and fees. Out-of-state corporations must establish nexus in New Jersey in order to hold a NJ direct shipper’s license.
Availability by state
|Wine, Spirits and Gifts Shipping Availability|
|AZ, CA, FL, NJ, NV, WA||Wine, Spirits and Gifts|
|AK, DC, ID, MO, NC, ND, NH, NM, OR, VA, WY||Wine and Gifts|
|All Other States||At this time, shipping is available for non-alcoholic Gifts (Accessories, Glassware, etc.)|
|Wine, Spirits and Gifts Pickup Availability|
|All Stores||All categories are available to order online for In-Store Pickup.|
|Note: VA, NC, Atlanta (Perimeter)||Spirits are not sold in these stores by law.|
|Note: CT||Cigars are not sold in these stores by law.|